I Can Define Where The Well Ran Dry (There’s No Place For Weakness)

Today: "Sometimes, our problems oversleep. Our difficulties take the day off. Even our fears forget to sneak up slowly on us till we’re all but surrounded. Sometimes, we feel fine. We see clearly. And we get a clear run towards an easy objective. Such things don’t happen very often, but they do happen! We know these experiences are possible. This week, you really need not feel that the moment you step an inch out of line, you’ll go a mile down the wrong road. Jupiter and Mercury are showering you with small blessings."
 
Tomorrow: "How does an elephant get up a tree? It sits on an acorn and waits for it to grow. And let us not forget the famous follow-up to that old joke. How does an elephant get down from a tree? It sits on a leaf and waits till autumn. You’ve been waiting a very long time for someone or something. You are beginning to suspect that your approach is as fundamentally flawed as the elephant’s. But actually, it isn’t. There actually are some things in life that can’t be hurried. The big change you seek can only come slowly. You are already doing all you can to help it along."
 
Things are getting better. I was finally approved by EI, and should be expecting my first payment in a day or two, if things go as planned. I took some initiative today, and John and I went to Supporting Employment Transitions, which is a company that is funded by EI to help retrain people who are caught in the same kinds of low-income work over and over again (especially those who have a recurring problem with needing to seek EI). They are currently putting me through personality tests that will determine what I am best suited to, as a career.

I am taking the Myers-Briggs test, as well as COPSystem, and I am going into a program on Wednesday called Strong Interest Inventory. Ultimately, my consultant is trying to urge me to seek the funding to go back to school. She thinks that I have the intellect (and I really should know it all on my own) to take something at UVic, if I choose to stay on the Island. John and I have more recently discussed the possibility of doing a short stint on the mainland for college/university level retraining. For what, we are currently unsure. I may be looking at taking a year off of work to do this. SET is concerned about my health and balancing a manageable, adequate career with those concerns looming overhead. Regardless, I am very excited. For the first time in a long time, I feel like doors are reopening for me. EI would cover the first $4,000 of tuition, and books. They would also extend EI to the duration of my course, depending on how long my initial term was for. As a student, I could qualify for a lot of government assistance with other things that I am currently not eligible for. I don’t entirely know what’s happening, at the moment it’s mostly just extensive testing. But this could mean a lot of really cool things for me.

My consultant, Stefanie, was very understanding, and listened very closely to me in terms of my needs and interests. This may be a chance for me to go back to school and do something great with my life. John and I are doing this program together- he has a ton of really great work experience, but he wants to get into a trade, doing something that isn’t so disposable. He wants to be a bit more active, also. SET is trying to get me out of customer service and into a profession. Today was a pretty great day. 🙂

K.M.
~ by Kд§$ị (ИovΔ) on 03/08/2010.

2 Responses to “I Can Define Where The Well Ran Dry (There’s No Place For Weakness)”

  1. You have no idea how happy this makes me. I’m so happy that things are really looking up for you. *hugs* I wish you all the best.

  2. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
