Party Favors & Invitations

That’s right– they’re finally on the go. I have 40 party favors and 28 invitations left to finish. It can be pretty tedious, but the finished product is really nice- much better than we expected from an inkjet printer and some scrap-booking supplies.

I used squares of gold tulle and wrapped them around wedding bubbles with crepe paper rope in multiple colors, and gold curling ribbon. I then used gold glitter glue and my fingers to add some sparkle to the outside of the tulle.
The invitations were made with the Once Upon a Time II Stack and some onion paper. We printed the details on the onion paper and the directions on the inside of the scrapbook paper with our Dell All-In-One printer, and used brads to fix the onion paper onto the folded scrapbook paper. I also used dollar store stamps and craft decal butterflies on the outside of the invitations. I’ve also used HamptonArt clear acrylic block stamps and gold Stampology ink to add borders and accents. The edges of the invitations were all trimmed with a fleur-de-lis edge puncher from EK Success.
There have been so many great ideas online and suggestions from friends. But I found that made it harder, in some respects, to decide what to do, and how to budget. At the end of the day, I decided what I liked that I could afford and formulated my own way to execute it. Handmaking all of my own invitations turned out to be pretty simple, and pretty cheap. I got to use free fonts from the internet that I picked (“Mutlu Ornamental” and “Chopin Script“), and formatted the text and images in OpenOffice Writer. It took a long time, but was more cost-effective than a printer, and higher-quality than box-cards.
As well, I got to make invitations using a variety of paper and folds instead of having to stick to one uniform style. It was pretty great. I mixed the leftover “confetti” from the edge puncher and some gold wedding confetti from the dollar store and put a little bit into each invitation envelope.
Pictures coming soon!
~ by Kд§$ị (ИovΔ) on 02/04/2010.

Leave a Reply

 
