Shades Of White

Hello everyone!

It’s been a long time since posting! Whew! John and I took a few hours today to visit a bridal store (Shades Of White) and get a better idea of what wedding dresses are like. We both still like the original idea we had for the dress, but I decided that even if I don’t get my dress from a bridal store, or even new, I wanted to try some on, purely for the ritual.

I tried 5 or 6 of them on, and we both fell for the same dress. I tried two, both by Maggie Sottero, and the second one fit beautifully right off the rack, but was far more traditional than I would prefer. We both fell for the “Reese” Dress.


The dress off the rack was a size 8, and nearly fit, so I would need to go in for a fitting. But I was very impressed that we found a fairly light dress that we both liked immediately in the first store I went into. It was also one of the first dresses that caught my eye. It’s entirely not at all the original idea we had, but now I’m hoping that we can either afford, make, or find something similar to this one. They did warn us that it takes about 4 to 6 months to order in a wedding dress, so we would need to order it by fall, they told us.

That just goes to show you that in movies when you see a bride walk into the dress shop, and walk out with her dress the same day, it’s a totally fictitious concept, unless she’s buying a discontinued dress. (Anyone seen “Bride Wars”?)

As for a veil, I think we’ll likely skip it. I’d like to have flowers in my hair.

~ by Kд§$ị (ИovΔ) on 07/05/2009.

2 Responses to “Shades Of White”

  1. wow that is beautiful! I absolutely adore the back of it!

  2. Thank you! It was actually sitting in the window of the Bridal shop, facing away from me, so the first few times I saw it, it was actually the back that interested me. I ended up being equally fond of the front, and when I tried it on (even though they compliment you for commission) both John and the consultant told me it looked pretty great on me, and John tends to err on the side of honesty instead of cottling.

Leave a Reply

 
