A Time For Truth Against The Lie, This Is The Time

“My last Qwa’ha Xahn was taller.”
暗闇は、光に与えるかもしれません
(May The Darkness Give Unto Light)

Sometimes I take the good parts of my life for granted, and forget how entirely fortunate I am to have them. Today I feel bad-ass. Today, I feel like a tease. Today, watching me walk away is a damned crime. I don’t particularly know why, it’s not as though I did a whole lot with my day. I think I managed to disassociate a little with my feelings and it led to this serene calm that I’ve severely been lacking recently. I’m the woman men remember– I’m the one that got away.

Tonight I dragged myself out to Open Mic. I don’t know why, but I wasn’t very motivated to go, today. I almost didn’t until Rachel dragged me out. She’s dealing with stuff and needed a friend. I’m actually really glad I went. I love Open Mic, for starters, and there is always coffee involved (and because I’m such a regular and a supporter of the event, Dmitri often keeps me in joe, gratis). Gabriel and Grey showed up, which was a lovely surprise. They came all the way from the North end of Nanaimo to see me perform ♥. Anyhow, I got to perform really close to when I showed up, which was a lovely surprise. Guy and I performed Sway by the Perishers, As Long As You Hold Me by Kirsty McColl and then I did one of my originals (Castaway). I got a lot of really great response. The Vault was packed to its max capacity this time, so the feedback was astonishing. A local named Jake performed  (he usually plays bars), and he had never been to The Vault before. He came and played three songs, and jammed with Guy a few times. Anyhow, he was pretty much amazing. Before he went up to perform, he pulled me aside when I was preparing my second coffee of the evening, and told me that I had an amazing voice, and that in terms of stereo assistance, I needed very little. His only criticism was that the mixing board’s mid-range was up too high for my voice. But he said he loved my style, and loved my song. I was extremely flattered that someone with so much talent, experience and stage presence was impressed by me. He was bound to love you when he heard you sing… Christine…

Anyhow, it was a great evening, all in all. Gabe, Grey and I are looking at taking 3 days off together later in the summer and going spelunking and paintballing. We’re all trying to make the effort to do these first time experiences that are active and outdoorsy, especially since we’re all into them. Towards the end of the evening, I struck up a conversation with Noel. She sings a lot at The Blues Underground. She knows more about blues and jazz than I do. We started reading one anothers songs and poetry, and we have eerily similar writing styles. We decided to hang out sometime, for lack of other people that go to these things who are close to our age. We were looking at perhaps performing the Fiona Apple rendition of Across The Universe at Open Mic sometime in the future.

I’m off to Vancouver in about 8 hours, so I will catch up with you when I get back. It’s going to be a hectic few days, for sure. In The meantime, check out this awesome site I found: LOLBuffy.

-"No. It can’t be. It’s gone. My world is gone."
-"Now you know how I feel."
-"We cling to what is gone. Is there anything in this life but grief?"
-"There’s love. There’s hope – for some. There’s hope that you’ll find something worthy. That your life will lead you to some joy. That after everything, you can still be surprised."
♥Kдssi

~ by Kд§$ị (ИovΔ) on 06/24/2008.

Leave a Reply

 
