*brood* *fret* *grumble*

There is definitely a shift in events taking place. I feel like my place in the world, in the situations of my life, and in many of my relationships in it, has become precarious. Who knows why? For some strange reason I’ve been sensitive and touchy about things for the last two days or so. Again, I believe that may be related to the fact that there are three women crammed into one house.  

>_<“ (HORMONES! ARGH!) All I can tell you is that if I seem quiet and moody, it’s because I am a person of deep contemplation. I hear and acknowledge what you say with your mouth, but 95% of what I’m taking from the experience is what you’re saying with your facial expression, your body language, the tone in your voice and all of the actions that follow.

And Ken… Ken and his big mouth. He mentioned to me that I may want to explore the option of being artificially inseminated.

I’m almost thankful that I have communicated very little with anyone for the last few days, and I’m almost even hoping it continues until this shitty mood passes. I’m happy most of the time, but I’m working for it, I promise you. So, if I have seemed to drop off of the face of the Earth, it’s because I’m on the couch with my poor, bed-ridden (or rather, Couch-ridden) Mother (who has had her eyes glued to Halo on XBox360 for 4 days now), watching sappy chick movies, and/or sleeping, and/or going for long walks. Less on the last one, and for that reason I hope Shay’s bike is still here. After working 8 hours on my feet, running back and forth, my feet and my knees are actually ANGRY at me. I have to go digging to find my orthodics. I didn’t need them in my previous pair of shoes. It seems that is not the case with the new shoes.

Also, if anyone knows of a reasonably priced gym in the downtown area of Nanaimo (I’d say within 15 minutes walking distance of Port Place) please let me know. I paid $18.95 a month at Fitness World and had to cancel my membership when I moved here.  I haven’t really been actively challenging myself since I got out of the hospital and I feel I’ve been cheating myself out of the opportunity to get healthier. I can’t really expect to pay much more than I did before, but I should start going back. I miss my weight training . My muscles are starting to get all soft and comfortable… and I dislike it. I think I may start off slow for awhile, until I’ve found a new regimen I like, and just go to the pool in Harewood and build up my lung capacity again. It’s been a little while for me and swimming laps. This, of course, may only last until winter, when I can go back to the arena (if there is one nearby) and commence my seasonal speed skating. My ankles need the exercise. But ultimately I need something that has less impact on my knees. I was on my feet for so long today that they were literally burning when I got home. And on that note, a question: does anyone know if bursting blood vessels from weight-lifting is bad? When I was lifting weights to exercise my calves, I burst a bunch of blood vessels in my shoulders from the impact of the pads on my shoulders. Is this important or can I disregard it?

Two recipes for you:

THE SOUP OF SPOOKY DOOM (aka Zero Point Soup)
Add vegetables listed, exclude whichever your preferences exclude, but do not substitute for anything not on this list!

  • 2 Cubes Soup Stock (Chicken or Beef)
    (Adding canned broth may increase flavor, or you can make some from scratch by hard boiling meat in 1/2 pot water for 30 min)
  • 2-3 Cups Water
  • 1 Can Crushed Tomatoes
  • Soy Sauce (To Taste)
   
VEGETABLES  
  • Celery
  • Spinach
  • Broccoli
  • Zucchini
  • Cauliflower
  • Mushrooms
  • Broccoflower
  • White/Red Onion (1 Whole, chopped small)
  • Green Beans (Halved)
  • Bean Sprouts
  • Brussel Sprouts (Quartered)
  • Lentils
  • Cabbage
    (Regular/Purple, Chopped, pre-cooked separately)
 
  1. Add bouillon cubes to water or scratch-made broth. Add can of broth if you choose.
  2. Add can of crushed tomatoes, or cubed fresh tomatoes. Canned is good to help flavor the broth.
  3. Add splash of regular soy sauce to flavor/season.
  4. Add 2-3 Bay leaves.
  5. Add sliced celery, fresh baby spinach leaves, chopped broccoli (with stalk), chopped zucchini, chopped cauliflower (with stalk), chopped mushrooms, chopped broccoflower (with stalk), chopped white/red onion, halved green beans, bean sprouts, quartered brussel sprouts, lentils, and chopped, precooked cabbage. Boil on medium-high heat with lid on until vegetables are cooked but not mushy. Add more water if broth is too concentrated.
  6. Add your choice of cooked meat. The meat used to make from-scratch broth is adequate. Keep the largest bone in the bottom of the pot for flavor. Season to taste.
  7. Pour prepared soup over 1/2 bowl of cooked, brown rice or prepared flax/wheat noodles, or serve soup on its own with two slices of flax toast with cheese.

This soup is also good if you drain off some of the broth and use it as a chip dip with Tortilla chips. Remember, without protein or added carbs, this soup has absolutely no substantial nutritional value. Eating it alone as a meal will result in low blood sugars/malnutrition.

***

Fast Food Veggie Burger (Invented at A&W in Terrace many a year ago)

If you work at one, or you’re near one and you’re in a bind, food-wise, this is a smart alternative. You’re not faced with eating a whole container of french-fries, or the heaviness of a burger. Baby burgers are a good snack alternative, but they have meat on them, and not a whole lot else. The actual veggie burgers aren’t very good (the ones from Triple O’s are amazing).

  • Whole Wheat Bun Top: Teen Sauce/Mozza Sauce, Lettuce & Tomato, Cheese (Cheese is optional)
  • Bun Bottom: Mustard & Ketchup, Pickle “patty” and diced onions.
  • 2-3 Onion Rings in the middle

And voila! A light- but filling (and virtually guiltless) meal alternative from a fast-food restaurant. You can also ask them to make this on a plate without the top bun and eliminate half ofthe carbs. (A wheat bun is about 30g of carb). Some people like to sub the onion rings in the middle for a hash brown, but that’s a substantial step up in the carb department.

A&W also makes a decent chicken salad, although they are rather small. Have the garden salad, because the caesar is so fatty with bacon bits, cheese and dressing, that you might as well have had a burger.

***

Until the unholy mood cumulus has passed…
♥Kassi

~ by Kд§$ị (ИovΔ) on 05/08/2008.

Leave a Reply

 
