I’m A Fool, The Kind That Everybody Wants To Be

Hello, hello.

*sigh* I’m still not entirely awake right now. I actually have this nagging urge to leave the computer right now and brew a pot of coffee. Why? Because I can, and because coffee is one of the greatest joys in my life. Isn’t that sad?

This weekend was a surprise, mostly out of the fact that I did not do most of the things I’d planned on. First, someone was supposed to visit, but all of this evil, annoying weather postponed that, and then Tori and I had a nice long walk on the seawall and discussed doing a bunch of things downtown and in Harewood yesterday, and she totally flaked on me (we were supposed to go to Valuey Villaug and buy the Usaid clothings!). I forgive her, though, because it was homework stress that had her attention. Anyhow, Mom and I spent most of yesterday together, which was awesome and I was not opposed to it at all.

We rocked open mic. Mom has been getting a little sicker. She’s been fighting this strep longer than I have without having given in to it, but we think she may be losing, because her scratchy throat and coughing have seriously increased. Regardless, she went up and did “Vincent” by Don MacLean. She was lovely, and did quite well despite the dryness of her throat. I did “Swallow” by Maren Ord and “Time” by Megan McCauley (surprisingly a few people had even heard the last one). The highlight of the evening was definitely Kendall Patrick, the girl who played three songs after Colin (who we sat with to soak up his music brilliance). She performed three songs, the last of which was called “The Girl Rant”, which is a piece of absolute brilliance.

“The Girl Rant” is about how the media has hijacked the minds of developing women into believing that being what they see on TV and in magazines is the only acceptable way to conduct themselves. To an extent, being sexy and having girls around me being sexy doesn’t bother me, but there comes to a point when it is too much. Sometimes I see that these girls have learned to hate themselves, hate who it is they really feel they are, and hate the person they feel they truly wish they could be. Though you haven’t heard it, you can find it on her myspace. The lyrics can also be found here. After you check these out, please, please, please sign her petition. We’re all trying to get her song up on Oprah for their “Girl” week, as a way to promote the cultivation of healthy self-esteem and self-image. This is a cause I truly believe in, that I think guys should really support. Women tend to trap themselves in the belief that this is what men should want! And who knows, men, maybe you’ve been brainwashed too, into believing that this is what you should want! Let’s go free our minds!

I do have one request, if any of you readers out there actually come to play open mic. Please, please do not play your instrument while other people are performing. If you simply cannot help yourself, go outside. If you feel you need to be included, ask the performer to sit in with them. Many people go to this thing as a way to build up their performing nerves, and a lot of the performers are very nervous when they go up. Hearing you sing and play and talk all over their performance makes them feel worse. Please be respectful and listen to what they have to contribute. On that note, the same person who played over everybody (until my Mom asked him to stop) played like 7 songs. There really should be a 3 song maximum. We appreciate that you have a talent, and that you’re good at what you do, but there is a 17 person waiting list of performers who all have day jobs and families. If you want to be featured, go find your own forum for it. We can’t all be up until 2 in the morning because your picking fingers haven’t started to bleed yet. Playing 7 songs when the rest of us have respectfully pared our acts down to 2 or 3 songs MAXIMUM, week after week, just makes you look really arrogant. By song 4, most of us were tuning you out and wishing you were finished, purely because of your attitude.

Alisha invited me to jam with her sometime. She’s really interested in helping me finish up some of my own stuff. That makes me feel all awesome. Who knows, we could be a killer team!

Now I’m hungry and I’m still tired. Until the next time I find myself inspired…

Love is an act of endless forgiveness, a tender look which becomes a habit.
If I never met you, I wouldn’t like you. If I didn’t like you, I wouldn’t love you. If I didn’t love you, I wouldn’t miss you. But I did, I do, and I will.
♥Kassi

~ by Kд§$ị (ИovΔ) on 04/29/2008.

Leave a Reply

 
