Welcome to Smallville… (Cloverdale)

Good evening ladies and gents.

It’s been a little while since I’ve been near a net capable computer, so here I go. Recently things are smoothing out. Things have been so hard recently, with moving and what have you. The move was very tiring, and Steve and I were both very sick at the time. I had a bad strep infection that I’ve since treated and recovered from, but now I have the beginnings of bronchitis. Not fun.

Our previous landlords were less than content that we were able to cash our damage deposit check on the same day we recieved it, and less impressed that we’re entitled to a $695 repayment of rent, which was due on the first. Well, they decided that they didn’t have to pay it until the 28th, and we don’t have the time or the money to push for it in court at the moment, otherwise we would be. We have a contractual agreement that was signed by all parties involved that states in clear, plain English that we are entitled to $695 by the effective date of our eviction (February 1st) and is non-contestible by law, because it is a signed, binding legal document.

As for the new place, everything is great. We finally got settled. We’re still half-packed, but it’s a work-in-progress. The transit service is impeccable and frequent. There is a convenient 7-11 a block away where we can go if we feel munchy or if we suddenly run out of this or that at 3am, and I can get my bus fare very easily now through them. Our building is loud, because it is right next to the freeway, so we have like 3D DTS surround of traffic all day and night long. It’s strange though, because it doesn’t bother us. We’re night owls anyway, so it just masks the noise that we make in our apartment at night.

Our landlords are extremely considerate of our living conditions. They call us regularly to check and make sure that we have everything that we need, and that the apartment is meeting our every expectations, which it is. We couldn’t be happier. I’m finally getting used to all the stairs I have to climb, and the idea of sharing one laundry facility between 9 apartment owners. It really isn’t a problem. I believe that most of them have laundry machines of their own, or use laundrymats. I’ve never had to wait to wash my clothing.

We finally got the XBox we wanted, so I got the exclusive Buffy game for XBox, which is a great deal more difficult than Chaos Bleeds, but still fun, regardless. I’m playing Burnout like a madman right now, it’s crazy fun.

Work is going very well. We had our monthly audit this morning and it was a smashing success.

In other news, I had a VERY lucky day recently. I went to my bank to cash my paycheck, and on my way to work from there I found a brand new unused Starbucks gift card on the ground. I didn’t have a single rude customer that day, it was a great shift, AND my boss bought me lunch, and then on the way home I found $80 in a puddle. I was able to pair that money with a $15 off coupon for HMV and got the first three seasons of Smallville for just under $40. 😀 Wow!

Anyway, we are going grocery shopping. See you all later!

K

~ by Kд§$ị (ИovΔ) on 02/06/2006.

One Response to “Welcome to Smallville… (Cloverdale)”

  1. Lucky day indeed! Holy shit, $80 in a puddle?? that’s intense!

    It’s awesome to hear that things are going well for you! Hope that the string of good fortune keeps up!

Leave a Reply

 
