Tainted

I don’t really have much to say, other than that I’m alive… I’m going to be okay… I’m just taking it day by day. But I have had a lot running through my head, and I thought that you might want to hear how some of it came out… so here goes:

One Of Those Days
Once she sang a song
about freedom and inner-strength
while her mom cooked her hashbrowns and eggs
and told her that Neil Diamond was timeless
and the sun broke through the dark.
It was one of those days
you never do forget
chasing the ice-cream truck
jumping through sprinklers
and playing barbies in the grass.

Once she saw a show
about growing up too soon
and understood too well
while her mom was just too busy
to sit down and share a moment
and slammed the door shut behind her.
It was one of those days
you wish so badly was through
locking yourself in your bedroom
listening to the rock station on the radio
and staring up at the ceiling.

Once she wrote a song
about being all alone
while her mom tried to forget that she had a daughter
and denied her wrongs
and the rain wouldn’t stop coming.
It was one of those days
you barely survive
trying to find a reason
for why you’re still alive.

Once she wrote a note
about all the reasons why her life sucks
while her mom begged for forgiveness
and pretended to understand
while the phone began to ring.
It was one of those days
you’re dying to forget
laying down the last time
to take your last breath
before life flows all away from you until you’re left for dead.
K. Thomsen©2003

Tainted
Hopelessness, emptiness
consuming thoughts of nothingness
I am beauty when it sleeps at night
I am shame reaching to the sky
I’m broken
Darkened breath and shut-down tears
flowing endless mounting fears
you taint me
and then I’m nothing.

Turbulent footsteps
barefoot across broken glass
Tortured though its freeing
If I could stand still
then I’ll know I’m okay.

Haunted all my days
countless trials faced
with you dancing circles in my head
leaving footprints in the sand
I’m washed away
Hatred has been left
burning out the life in me
If I speak suddenly the words
make it all too real
and then you stand before me
and I’m running
Though physically you don’t imprison me
I blame myself and trust no-one else
you’ve erased me.

Sometimes the world just
moves too fast
Disarranged, misplaced, misjudged past
leads to all I must withstand
but if I could just stand still
I know I’d be all right.

It’s too late to be redeeming
I just do all that I can
standing on glass and bleeding
I’m standing still at last.

Turbulent footsteps
barefoot across broken glass
Tortured though its freeing
If I could stand still
then I’ll know I’m okay.
Sometimes the world just
moves too fast
Disarranged, misplaced, misjudged past
has torn me away with nothing left
but if I could just stand still at last
I know I’d be alive.
K. Thomsen©2003

=*K

~ by Kд§$ị (ИovΔ) on 04/30/2003.

Leave a Reply

 
