Mock Trial Day Two

Okay, so there it is, the second day of our mock trial. Andrea looked stylin in her robe as Madame Cheif Justice of the Court Of Appeal. It was pretty spiffy. Anyway, yesterday there were some issues posed by the Crown Prosecution about Jim Keegstra’s credibility as a teacher in a small town high school. That question wasn’t even up to debate. Our job was to debate whether belief and opinion is its own defense for defamation against an identifiable group.

I think we lost, but we put up a good fight. I feel what Jim Keegstra posed against the Jewish community was only ignorance, and not the promotion of hatred. I can say that with an army of evidence to back me up, because I come from a Jewish family. Keegstra merely denied the occurrence of the Holocaust and called the Jewish community a few names, but that’s not something to condemn a man for. The world knows he’s ignorant. We don’t need him peering out from a dark prison cell to understand that.

Anyway… Its been two days since I’ve seen Steven. I feel like I’m losing my mind. Its been so hard this last month. I don’t think I’ve told anyone, but I’m going through a harder transition than I think I’ve ever known. Even through the bullying and the abuse, I knew how I felt and why… but for now… I’m not sure. My family is growing older without me in it to watch them and guide them. They’ll grow without any recollection of influence from me. That’s hard to know. On top of that, I have to go to court sooner or later to face the one person I can actually accuse for ruining a huge portion of my life. I can blame him for that and I am going to have to look him in the eye and decide. I am going to have to. It will be so hard telling them what he did to me.

I’ve realized that half of my friends are desensitized, immature, selfish assclowns, and the group of people who are trying to get to know me are still a little unsure about what I’m doing. I’m going to be graduating soon, and moving out and moving on. My life is about to change, profoundly, and suddenly I’m not sure if I’m ready for it… if I am strong enough to endure that.

I’m afraid.

=*K

~ by Kд§$ị (ИovΔ) on 03/11/2003.

One Response to “Mock Trial Day Two”

  1. I Know You Are

    You’re strong enough Kassi, you have all you need within you. I know you can do anything you set your mind to, and I know you are a person of strength.

Leave a Reply

 
